TOURNAMENT PREDICTIONS – Hungry vs Mulder & Scully Meet the Were-Monster / Wetwired vs 731

The X-Cast blog team are going to share their daily predictions about the Episode Tournament fixtures coming up, talking about who they think will win (not crucially who *should* win – that’s up to you!).

December 14th/15th

HUNGRY vs MULDER & SCULLY MEET THE WERE-MONSTER

rob_roberts_with_mindy_rinehart

xfiles21

Tony: “WERE MONSTER – absolute slam dunk for the best episode of Season 10.”

Carl: “Yeah, WERE-MONSTER is going through. I think it could go far in this tournament, actually. Will it be the Darin Morgan episode that does best?”

Sarah: “WERE-MONSTER has this one in the bag. Hungry is one I’d not seen again until my rewatch recently. I actually kind of liked it, but WM is far and away better.”

Sam: “I actually found the concept of Hungry concept quite terrifying, but a poor episode all in all. Were-Monster for sure this time!”

Baz: “I quite like HUNGRY, particularly the concept but it’s not an all-time classic and comes at the point where interest in the show was starting to wane. I think WERE-MONSTER is much closer to classic status and the highlight of the revival. No contest really, WERE-MONSTER will win.”

Paige: “Go Were-Monster go. As with all Darin Morgan episodes, the more you see it, the more you get out of it.”

WETWIRED vs 731

x-files-season-3-wetwired

protectedimage-php

Tony: “731 – relatively close match as neither are beloved, but Mulder on the speeding train should do it.”

Baz: “Ah 731 is one of my favourite mythology episodes the show ever did. It’s exciting, has a great climax with Mr X rescuing Mulder from the exploding train and really builds on the show’s mythology. WETWIRED is great but not quite as memorable, even though it has the Mr X works for the CSM twist. I believe 731 will win this one.”

Carl: “Relatively close, I agree. I think WETWIRED might edge this, the examination of the trust between Mulder & Scully resonates with a lot of fans.”

Sam: “I agree with Baz, 731 is a great mythology episode. I’m going with that.”

Paige: “I love the Wetwired/731 matchup. That’s a really good one. I think the mythology fans might push 731 through.”

Sarah: “731 is an iconic episode in the mytharc. I think it’ll beat Wetwired but it might be close.”

Ally: “I think Wetwired might just take it.”

Andrew: “I love Wetwired! You’ll probably be surprised at how high the episode ranks on my list… that said, 731 features one of my favorite scenes of the whole series. Tough call.”

Make sure you’re following our tournament with the hashtag #TheXFilesEpisodeTournament on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

